Smolyar claims feature race win after dramatic O’Sullivan charge

Formula 3

Posted on

| Written by

Alexander Smolyar has taken his first win of the Formula 3 season, and the first for an Authorised Neutral Driver, in a rain-affected race at the Hungaroring.

The MP Motorsport driver had qualified on pole position, beating Zane Maloney. Oliver Bearman and Gregoire Saucy claimed the second row, with title contenders Isack Hadkar and Victor Martins starting outside the top six.

Drivers took the start on wet weather tyres on a damp but drying track. Smolyar checked out from pole position, extending his lead and going on to win by more than five seconds.

The top three on the grid came home in the order they started, Maloney narrowly holding off Bearman in an exciting scrap over second place. But behind them Zak O’Sullivan, who started 22nd, pulled off an audacious tyre gamble to claim fourth.

Switching to slicks as the track began to dry, O’Sullivan tore as much as 10 seconds a lap out of the leaders as he scythed through the pack with outrageous speed. He took the chequered flag seven seconds behind Smolyar, and might have won had the race gone a lap further.

Jak Crawford came in fifth ahead of Juan-Manuel Correa, who climbed from 18th to sixth. Arthur Leclerc, who was relegated to ninth on the grid by a penalty for a collision in yesterday’s race, followed Kush Maini home in eighth.

That edged Leclerc closer to championship leader Hadjar, who failed to score in 18th, and Martins, who took 10th behind yesterday’s winner Caio Collet and is now tied for the championship lead. Hadjar was swallowed up at the start and narrowly avoided contact on lap two when a fight between Johnny Edgar and Oliver Goethe that sent the Campos car into his path, forcing him to virtually stop on-track and fall out of the points.

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3 Hungary race two results

Position Car Driver Team
1 11 Alexander Smolyar MP
2 3 Zane Maloney Trident
3 6 Oliver Bearman Prema
4 26 Zak O’Sullivan Carlin
5 5 Jak Crawford Prema
6 9 Juan Manuel Correa ART
7 12 Kush Maini MP
8 4 Arthur Leclerc Prema
9 10 Caio Collet MP
10 7 Victor Martins ART
11 8 Gregoire Saucy ART
12 2 Roman Stanek Trident
13 20 David Vidales Campos
14 31 Reece Ushijima HWA
15 29 Franco Colapinto HWA
16 25 Alexander Smolyar MP
17 23 Ido Cohen Jenzer
18 18 Isack Hadjar Hitech
19 28 Enzo Trulli Carlin
20 17 Kaylen Frederick Hitech
21 30 Rafael Villagomez HWA
22 27 Brad Benavides Carlin
23 15 Christian Mansell Charouz
24 1 Jonny Edgar Trident
25 24 Federico Malvestiti Jenzer
26 19 Nazim Azman Hitech
27 16 Francesco Pizzi Charouz
28 21 Oliver Goethe Campos
29 22 Pepe Marti Campos
30 14 Laszlo Toth Charouz

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Formula 3

Browse all Formula 3 articles

Author information

Hazel Southwell
Hazel is a motorsport and automotive journalist with a particular interest in hybrid systems, electrification, batteries and new fuel technologies....

Got a potential story, tip or enquiry? Find out more about RaceFans and contact us here.

2 comments on “Smolyar claims feature race win after dramatic O’Sullivan charge”

  1. Awesome wet-dry race. It’s a treat to see these F3 cars in low-grip conditions. Brilliant charge from O’Sullivan, and Correa too.

    1. But I’m pretty sure there’s no HWA in F3 this year. We’re nearing the end of the season it’s a little embarrassing for this site to be making mistakes like this.

Comments are closed.